certification standards

The following list provides links to PDF files of the Certification Standards used by the CFPFA.


An introduction to the Canadian standards for professional forester certification.

Standard 1

Tree and Stand Dynamics: Knowledge of tree and stand establishment, growth and mortality forms the basis of understanding how the forest ecosystem functions.

Standard 2

Forest to Landscape: nowledge of composition, structure and function of forested ecosystems at scales ranging from aggregates of stands to landscapes is essential to describe and evaluate current conditions, predict the effects of environmental change, and practice conservation and management.

Standard 3

Forest Management: Forest ecosystem management balances ecological, social and economic demands with the capacity of forest resources to provide for present and future values.

Standard 4

Economics and Administration of Forestry: Utilizing forest resources requires knowledge of the principles of allocation of limited resources among competing interests and the economic, policy and administrative forces that cause change.

Standard 5

Leadership Skills: Professional foresters must possess critical reasoning skills to analyze and communicate complex ideas clearly and to provide advice to a range of clients.

Standard 6

Information Acquisition and Analysis: The management of Canada's natural resources requires the acquisition and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data.

Standard 7

Professionalism and Ethics: Professional foresters have integrity and are competent, independent and accountable for their actions and decisions. They maintain professional standards and conduct based on ethical principles including life-long learning and continuing competency requirements.