Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

Under the Canadian Agreement on Internal Trade, and the CFPFA’s mutual recognition agreement, professional foresters (R.P.F.) and forest engineers (ing.f.) in good standing may transfer to another jurisdiction after providing the requisite forms and fees. A local knowledge exam is also required to ensure awareness of local laws, policies and practices.

The members of the CFPFA have responded to a combined Canadian and provincial desire to improve labour mobility throughout Canada by signing an agreement on mutual recognition. The agreement, titled the Mutual Recognition Agreement between the Registered Professional Foresters Associations of Canada and hereinafter referred to as “The Agreement”, sets out the conditions under which a Registered Professional Forester (R.P.F.)/ingénieur forestier (ing.f.) who is registered/licenced in one Canadian jurisdiction can have his/her qualifications recognized in another jurisdiction that is a signatory to The Agreement [insert link to MRA pdf document].

The Agreement is predicated on the recognition that there is a moderate degree of commonality between the CFPFA Member Agencies with respect to the range of activities that practitioners typically perform and the scopes of practice described in their legislations. For example, each Member Agency has formally agreed that practitioners who have graduated from an accredited baccalaureate program in forestry have achieved, with only limited exception, the necessary academic credentials for entrance into membership.  According to the requirements of each Member Agency, new applicants must also have relevant practical experience, a commitment to professionalism and ethical conduct and a demonstrated knowledge of relevant local forest policy/ legislation and professional practice.

Although each Member Agency has provincially legislated responsibility for establishing its own certification criteria, The Agreement commits them to utilizing fair and attainable criteria that permit transfer of an R.P.F./ing.f. from one province to another.

The Agreement is the cornerstone for the professional foresters associations’ participation in the national Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT) and, whereas the AIT is the overriding document guiding labour mobility in Canada, The Agreement sets out for the CFPFA Member Agencies the detail on how this will be accomplished.

l’entente de reconnaissance mutuelle

En vertu de l'Accord canadien sur le commerce intérieur et de l'Entente de reconnaissance mutuelle de la FCAFP, les forestiers professionnels (RPF) et les ingénieurs forestiers (ing.f.) en règle peuvent transférer dans un autre territoire une fois qu’ils ont remis les formulaires et acquitté les frais exigés. Ils doivent aussi se soumettre à un examen sur les connaissances locales pour vérifier qu’ils connaissent les lois, les politiques et les usages propres à ce territoire.


Répondant au désir commun des provinces et du Canada, les membres de la FCAFP ont signé une entente de reconnaissance mutuelle afin d'améliorer la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre à la grandeur du Canada. L'entente, désignée sous le nom d’Entente de reconnaissance mutuelle entre les associations de forestiers professionnels du Canada et ci-après dénommé « l'Entente », établit les conditions dans lesquelles un forestier professionnel inscrit (R.P.F.)/ingénieur forestier (ing.f.) autorisé à exercer sur un territoire du Canada peut faire reconnaître sa ou sa compétence dans une autre administration signataire de l’Entente [insérer le lien vers MRA document pdf].


L'Entente suppose que les organismes membres ont un bon nombre de points en commun quant à l’étendue des actes posés par leurs professionnels et aux champs de pratique prévus dans leurs législations. Ainsi, chacun des organismes membres a officiellement reconnu que les praticiens diplômés d'un programme de baccalauréat en foresterie agréé ont acquis, à quelques exceptions près, les titres de compétence requis pour l’admission à l'exercice de la profession. Selon ses besoins, chaque organisme membre peut aussi exiger que les nouveaux candidats aient acquis une expérience pratique pertinente, fassent preuve d’un engagement au professionnalisme et à la déontologie et qu’ils aient une connaissance suffisante des particularités locales en matière de politiques et de lois forestières et de pratiques professionnelles.


Bien que chaque organisme membre se voie confier par une loi provinciale la responsabilité d’établir ses propres critères de certification, l’Entente les oblige à utiliser des critères justes et réalistes permettant à un R.P.F. ou à un ing.f. de transférer d'une province à l'autre.


L'Entente est la pierre angulaire qui permet aux associations de forestiers professionnels de participer à l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur (ACI) et, bien que l'ACI soit le document principal en matière de mobilité de la main-d’œuvre au Canada, L'Entente précise comment les organismes membres de la FCAFP vont s’y conformer en pratique.