overview

Professional forestry is a regulated profession in all but two Canadian provinces (Manitoba and Prince Edward Island).  As the umbrella organization for the provincial regulators of professional forestry practice, the Canadian Federation of Professional Foresters Associations (CFPFA) serves as a forum for discussion on matters of common interest and for the development of processes which will have common application.  


The Member Agencies of the CFPFA (see “About the CFPFA”) have developed and adopted a common set of competency-based academic and work experience requirements that all applicants for professional practice must meet in order to become registered.  These requirements, known as Certification Standards, and their associated assessment procedures, provide an equitable,  transparent and consistent basis for regulatory bodies across Canada to assess and verify an applicant’s qualifications - knowledge, skills, and competencies - for formal recognition as a Registered Professional Forester (R.P.F.) or ingénieur forestier (ing.f.) (Québec).  


The standards are applied in two quite separate ways – for Certification and for Accreditation.   Although fully harmonized, there is a separate set of standards for each.  The former applies to individual applicants for registration whereas the latter is used to assess university programs for accreditation purposes.


Each set is comprised of seven discrete standards, or subject areas. Each standard details the principle, relevant components, demonstrable competency requirements, and performance indicators, arranged in a progression of understanding, for the given standard.  Demonstrable competencies are described, and assessed, at an entry, i.e., at the level of competence and experience expected of a new graduate of an accredited university forestry program

aperçu

La foresterie professionnelle est une profession réglementée dans toutes les provinces canadiennes, sauf deux , soit le Manitoba et l’Île du Prince Édouard. En tant qu’organisation chapeautant les organismes provinciaux de réglementation de l’exercice de la profession de forestier, la Fédération canadienne des associations de forestiers professionnels (FCAFP) sert de forum de discussion sur des questions d'intérêt commun et pour l'élaboration de processus d’intérêt commun pour tous ses membres.


Les organismes membres de la FCAFP (voir « A propos de la CFPFA") ont élaboré et adopté un ensemble commun de critères basés sur la compétence acquise par les études et le travail auxquels doivent satisfaire tous les candidats désireux d’être admis à l’exercice de la profession. Ces critères, appelés Normes de certification, et les procédures d'évaluation qui s’y rattachent, constituent une base équitable, transparente et cohérente au service des organismes de réglementation canadiens pour évaluer et vérifier les acquis d'un candidat – connaissances, habiletés et compétences – en vue de leur accorder une reconnaissance professionnelle en tant que forestier professionnel inscrit (RPF) ou ingénieur forestier (ing.f.) au Québec.


Les normes ont deux utilités distinctes, soit la certification et l’agrément. Il y a un ensemble de critères particulier pour chacune, mais les deux sont parfaitement harmonisés. Le premier est destiné aux candidats désirant être admis à la pratique et l’autre sert à évaluer les programmes universitaires à des fins d'agrément.


Chaque ensemble est composé de sept normes ou disciplines distinctes. Chaque norme comprend un énoncé de principe, des éléments de contenu, les compétences démontrables requises ainsi que des indicateurs de performance, organisées dans un ordre croissant de compréhension pour cette norme. La description des compétences et leur évaluation se font au seuil d’entrée en carrière, c'est à dire au niveau de compétence et d'expérience attendu d'un nouveau diplômé d'un programme universitaire agréé en foresterie.