projects

The Canadian Federation of Professional Foresters Associations (CFPFA) is the national organization for the coordination of professional foresters associations (R.P.F. and ing.f.) in Canada and serves as an advocate for issues of national importance or consequences. It has overseen discussion on numerous matters of common concern over its more than three decades of operation and, during the past few years, has undertaken a number of major projects  on behalf of its Member Agencies.  Examples include:


Certification Standards: The CFPFA is the national coordinating organization for the certification of professional foresters in Canada. The Federation has provided the platform for discussions and development of a common set of Certification Standards and ensures, in its capacity as a forum for discussion, continued cooperation among all Member Agencies.  The CFPFA Member Agencies, exclusive of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec (OIFQ), have formally approved, adopted and use the standards for entrance into professional practice in each of their provincial jurisdictions


Accreditation Standards:  The CFPFA, by formal agreement of all Member Agencies, established the Canadian Forestry Accreditation Board (CFAB), an independently functioning body, to provide a service for the evaluation of university level forestry degree programs in 1989.  As with the Certification Standards, the Accreditation Standards employed by the CFAB have been approved for use by the CFPFA Member Agencies.

The Accreditation Standards used by the CFAB are fully harmonized with the CFPFA Certification Standards, and the CFPFA provides the framework for Member Agencies to meet periodically to review and discuss modifications.  The CFPFA provides advice to the Canadian Forestry Accreditation Board on the nature and content of education programs required for the practice of professional forestry in Canada.


Labour Mobility: The CFPFA is the national body for addressing issues of reciprocity and movement of professional foresters between regulatory jurisdictions. In this capacity, the Federation and its individual Member Agencies  serve as the primary points of contact with government agencies for the implementation of the Agreement on Internal Trade with respect to professional forestry. In addition, the CFPFA was the umbrella organization for the development of the Mutual Recognition Agreement of the CFPFA which sets out the conditions under which a Registered Professional Forester can move from one province to another with respect to professional practice.


Evaluation of Foreign-Trained and Non-Accredited Applicants: The CFPFA represented the professional forester associations in negotiations with federal, provincial and territorial governments to develop guidelines for the evaluation of credentials of foreign-trained applicants and graduates of non-accredited programs. For focused undertakings in this area and to oversee the implementation of this credential assessment process, the CFPFA has established a sub-committee titled the Central Assessment Authority. The subcommittee’s responsibilities include:
Establishing process procedures; setting and collecting credential assessment application fees; managing the finances of the national assessment process; managing the list of volunteer assessors and appointing assessment panel members and assuring that assessment data collected are available to the CFPFA Member Agencies.


Professionalism: The CFPFA provides a forum for communication between existing and potential professional foresters associations in Canada on issues such as enrolment and registration; codes of conduct and continuing forestry education.


National Issues: The CFPFA addresses national issues that affect the practice of professional forestry provincially and works towards the establishment of professional foresters associations / regulatory bodies in each of the provinces not already having such structures.  The CFPFA remains in regular communication with the Association of University Forestry Schools of Canada (AUFSC) for discussion of mutual issues related to forestry education and provides advice to federal and provincial governments on professional forester and labour mobility issues.

projets

La Fédération canadienne des associations de forestiers professionnels (FCAFP) est l'organisme national chargé de coordonner les associations de forestiers professionnels (RPF et ing.f.) au Canada et de les représenter dans des dossiers d'importance ou de portée nationale. Elle a présidé aux débats sur de nombreux dossiers d'intérêt commun au cours de ses trois décennies d'existence et a amorcé dernièrement plusieurs projets d’importance au nom des associations qui en font partie. En voici quelques exemples :


Normes de certification : La FCAFP est l'organisme national chargé de coordonner la certification des forestiers professionnels au Canada. La Fédération a servi de plateforme d’échange pour élaborer un ensemble commun de normes de certification, en plus d’agir comme forum de discussion pour promouvoir la collaboration continue entre les organismes membres. À l’exception de l'Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec (OIFQ), tous les organismes membres de la FCAFP ont entériné et adopté de façon officielle les normes d’admission à l’exercice de la profession, et les utilisent dans chacune de leurs provinces respectives.


Normes d'agrément : Avec l’accord formel de tous ses membres, la FCAFP a créé en 1989 le Bureau canadien d'agrément en foresterie (BCAF), un organisme indépendant chargé de fournir un service d'évaluation des programmes universitaire de baccalauréat en foresterie. Comme c’est le cas avec les normes de certification, les normes d'agrément utilisées par le BCAF ont été autorisées par les organismes membres CFPFA.

Les normes d'agrément utilisées par le BCAF sont entièrement harmonisées avec les normes de certification de la FCAFP et la FCAFP réunit ses membres périodiquement pour analyser et de discuter toute modification à ces normes. La FCAFP conseille le Bureau canadien d’agrément en foresterie sur la nature et le contenu des programmes de formation nécessaires à l'exercice de la foresterie professionnelle au Canada.


Mobilité de la main : La FCAFP est l'organisme national chargé des questions de réciprocité et de mobilité des forestiers professionnels entre les territoires réglementés. À ce titre, la Fédération et chacun de ses organismes membres servent d’intermédiaire auprès des organismes gouvernementaux pour la mise en œuvre de l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur dans le domaine de la foresterie professionnelle. En outre, la FCAFP a chapeauté la préparation de l'Entente de reconnaissance mutuelle de la FCAFP qui définit les conditions auxquelles un forestier professionnel inscrit peut se déplacer d'une province à l'autre pour y exercer sa profession.


Évaluation de candidats formés à l'étranger et issus de programmes non accrédités : La FCAFP a représenté les associations de forestiers professionnels lors des négociations avec les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux qui ont conduit à l’élaboration de directives pour évaluer les titres de compétence des candidats étrangers et des diplômés de programmes non agréés. La FCAFP a mis sur pied un sous-comité, désigné sous le nom d’Autorité centrale d’évaluation, qui s’occupe de projets particuliers et supervise la mise en œuvre de ce processus d’évaluation des titres de compétence. Ce sous-comité s'est vu convier les responsabilités suivantes :

Établir des procédures; fixer et percevoir les droits liés à la demande d’évaluation des titres de compétence; gérer les aspects financiers du processus national d'évaluation; gérer la liste des évaluateurs bénévoles et former les comités d’évaluation ainsi que s’assurer les données d'évaluation recueillies soient transmises aux organismes membres de la FCAFP


Professionnalisme : La FCAFP offre aux associations canadiennes de forestiers professionnels, présentes et futures, un forum d’échange sur divers sujets comme l'inscription, l'enregistrement, les codes de déontologie et la formation continue.


Enjeux nationaux : La FCAFP se penche sur les dossiers nationaux relatifs à l’exercice de la foresterie professionnelle à l'échelle provinciale et travaille à l’établissement d’associations de forestiers professionnels ou d’organismes réglementaires dans les provinces où ces structures sont absentes. La FCAFP entretien des relations soutenues avec l'Association des écoles forestières universitaires du Canada (AUFSC) pour discuter des sujets d'intérêt mutuel liés à la formation en foresterie et conseille les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux sur la mobilité des forestiers professionnels.