use of title

By Ian Millar R.P.F., with input from the members of CFPFA


Social Convention and University Degrees
The appropriate application or use of a title (conventional or professional) is sometimes confusing, for both the user and/or someone interpreting what the title stands for.  This is not surprising because there are many different types of titles. For example, Mister (Mr.) may be used by anyone as a respectful form of address for a male. Doctor (Dr.) may be used by graduates of medical or dental programs. Dr. may also be used by an individual who has graduated from any university program offering a Doctoral degree. This latter situation has arisen because these titles are originally university designations indicating a level of accomplishment. Today they may be used by all of those who have been conferred with the required degree.

 

Authorized by Legislation
Another situation, and one perhaps less well understood, is where a title is authorized by professional legislation. These types of protected titles are usually issued as a result of provincial statute establishing either a trade or professional regulatory organization. The professional organization, for example, is charged by the legislation, to self-regulate and oversee the entry and practice standards of the profession and the quality of the work undertaken by members of that profession. In return for this oversight of the profession, the organization is authorized by the legislation to award the exclusive right to use specific titles to those of its members who continue to meet the membership requirements of the organization. The organization in turn is responsible to ensure that the integrity of the title is maintained.  All this is done in the interest of public protection for the quality of service to be provided by the profession.

 

The RPF Designation for Professional Foresters
The practice of professional forestry is governed by provincial legislation, as is the management of forests. Thus, an individual who uses the title “Registered Professional Forester” (R.P.F. or RPF) (“ingénieur forestier” (ing.f.) in Quebec) must be in compliance with the legislation, or bylaws, establishing the membership requirements of the professional association in that jurisdiction.  In some jurisdictions, the legislation establishes a right to practice as well as a right to title, while in others there is only a right to title. Whichever is the case, an individual must ensure that they are in compliance with the provincial legislation before using the protected title in the jurisdiction.

The professional foresters associations in Canada have reviewed the transferability of, and proper use of protected titles, across jurisdictional boundaries. They have recognized that incidental use of the title, such as providing a business card with the title, is acceptable so long as the address reflects the authorizing jurisdiction.  However, in other situations, where there is a professional organization in the jurisdiction, the title must be used in conformance with the provincial legislation. This would include, for example, making proposals for undertaking work, or providing a professional judgment or opinion, to mention only two examples. Further information on this topic may be obtained from your provincial Professional Foresters Association.

utilisation du titre

Par Ian Millar FPR, avec la participation des membres de la FCAFP

Conventions sociales et diplômes universitaires
Il est parfois difficile d'utiliser correctement un titre (officiel ou professionnel) tant pour l'utilisateur que pour celui qui cherche à l'interpréter. Rien d’étonnant quand on considère toutes les sortes de titres différents. Par exemple, on peut utiliser Monsieur (M.) comme formule polie pour interpeller une personne de sexe masculin. Docteur désigne les diplômés des programmes en médecine ou en art dentaire. On peut aussi désigner sous le nom de Docteur toute personne diplômée d’un programme universitaire de niveau doctoral. Cette dernière situation vient du fait que ces titres représentaient à l’origine des appellations universitaires accordées en raison de réalisations particulières. Aujourd’hui, on peut les attribuer à toute personne qui satisfait aux exigences du diplôme de niveau doctoral.

 

Régi par la loi
On comprend parfois moins bien l’usage des titres régis par une loi professionnelle. Ces titres protégés sont généralement attribués en vertu d’une loi provinciale instituant un organisme qui réglemente un métier ou une profession. Dans le cas d’un organisme professionnel, par exemple, la loi lui confère la responsabilité de réglementer et de contrôler les normes d’admission à l’exercice de la profession ainsi que la qualité de cet exercice chez les membres de cette profession. Comme il effectue la surveillance de la profession, l'organisme est habilité par la loi à accorder en exclusivité à ses membres le droit d’utiliser certains titres, pourvu qu’ils continuent à répondre aux critères d'appartenance à l'organisme. En retour, l'organisme est responsable d'assurer le maintien de l'intégrité du titre. Tout ceci concourt à protéger l'intérêt public en s’assurant de la qualité des services fournis par les professionnels.

 

L’appellation RPF pour les forestiers professionnels
L’exercice de la profession de forestier est régi par les lois provinciales, tout comme c’est le cas pour la gestion des forêts. Ainsi, toute personne qui utilise le titre « Registered Professional Forester » (R.P.F. ou RPF) (ou « ingénieur forestier » - ing.f., au Québec) doit se conformer à la législation ou aux règlements fixant les conditions d'admission à l’association professionnelle de ce territoire. Dans certaines administrations, la loi accorde à la fois un droit d’exercice exclusif et un titre réservé alors que dans les autres, elle n’accorde que le titre réservé. Dans tous les cas, il faut être sûr de se conformer à la législation provinciale avant d'utiliser le titre exclusif sur un territoire donné.

Les associations de forestiers professionnels du Canada ont examiné si les titres protégés pouvaient être transférés d’une administration à l’autre et façon de les utiliser convenablement. Elles ont conclu qu’il est correct d’utiliser le titre à titre informatif, comme sur une carte professionnelle, pourvu que l'adresse indique bien le territoire où le titre est reconnu. Toutefois, toutes les autres utilisations du titre sur un territoire régi par un organisme professionnel doivent se faire conformément à la législation provinciale. On entend par « autre utilisation », le fait d’offrir ses services pour la réalisation de travaux ou de donner des opinions ou des avis professionnels, pour ne donner que deux exemples. Vous obtiendrez plus de renseignements à ce sujet auprès de votre association provinciale de forestiers professionnels.